Let’s have light & open hearts 

Just a reminder to stay light-hearted about things. I feel my best when I’m not too worried about what people think or say about me.

I used to really struggle with this. I was always concerned with the way others saw me, and I still am to an extent. But I had to stop letting the will of others dictate my own will. Rather than wondering if someone likes you, try looking at yourself and make sure that you like you. I noticed that the more I started to focus on doing what I needed to love myself, the less negative people seemed to hold me down. I wasn’t looking to impress; rather I was looking to be the best version of myself, for myself. I showed kindness yet not concern for the negativity of others.

Don’t let anyone else’s opinion of you start to define how you view yourself. At the end of the day, what matters are the opinions of the ones that we are most close with. We never owe our time and efforts to people that doubt us, dislike us, or weigh us down in general. Dedicate your time to the passions and people that are feeding your soul positively. Show kindness –and nothing else- to those only looking to tear you down. I found that this has not only helped my self-esteem, but it has allowed me to continue to love even those who have hurt me.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. –Martin Luther King Jr.

Leave a Reply

