Comfort drinks: 🚫 caffeine. 

So in high school I spent four years working as a barista. I absolutely loved that job, and have learned a few things about yummy drinks. One thing I have learned in my time spent as a barista is that coffee is not always the best choice for me to be drinking every day.

 A lot of my strategy to skincare revolves around water. Drinking half of our body weight in ounces of water a day can be the best way to get clear skin and properly detoxify ourselves! In contradiction to my efforts to drink a lot of water, coffee can be a huge source of dehydration in the body if you’re drinking too much and not enough water–makes sense right? Also, sometimes coffee gives me the gitters and makes me too talkative; and believe me, I already talk too much before I drink a cup of pure energy.  But don’t get me wrong! There are some great pros and cons about coffee listed here. Might I add that the pros do outweigh the cons!

Because of my fear of dehydration and gitters,  I tend to shy away from coffee and opt for different drinks instead. I wanted to show you a list of some of my favorite alternatives for anyone else that might not grab a coffee as their first choice! Or even if you love coffee, these drinks are great ways to mix up your morning coffee run 💛 

  1. Iced Chai Latte (try with coconut milk or soy–it’s great!) 
  2. London Fog Latte 
  3. Green Tea Blender
  4. Iced Green tea (or any other of your favorite teas) w/ Agave sweetener 
  5. Honey & Cinnamon steamer

Note: each of these drinks can be served at Starbucks and should be available at almost all coffee shops! There are even some recipes linked that you can make at home. 

Leave a Reply

